top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanese Dell

Brother vs Public School

Lately, I have been frustrated with the high school that my brother attends. This frustration didn't just start when he went to high school though. The frustration I have been feeling has been around for years, since he left elementary school.

My brother is on the autism spectrum and he's pretty high functioning. My brother has an IEP that the school is supposed to go by but it seems that they never do that. I'll tell you why.

Last night, I was working with my brother on his homework. He had two assignments for math and multiple assignments for his physical science class but we only did one of the assignments. During the course of the two hours that I was helping him with his homework, we did sixty problems. We did all of the problems for one of the math assignments which was twenty problems and then we did the odd numbers for the other two. It's crazy to think that just doing the odd problems was forty problems by itself.

My dad told me last night that he just asked my brother's teachers to not give my brother so much homework. And if they do give him a lot, to only have my brother do the odd or even numbers for the assignment. In my opinion, it should be less than that.

It's frustrating that we have to go through this same cycle every single year. Why do his teachers not understand that you need to adjust his assignments based on his IEP? Do they not understand how to do their job?

I hope that this issue ends soon and that more of his teachers in the future will be able to adjust his assignments without questioning why or giving my parents a hard time. It's not hard to do your job by adjusting the homework assignments for a student who is on the autism spectrum.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page