top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanese Dell

2019: New Year, New Growth

Happy New Year! I hope that everybody was surrounded by friends and family when they were celebrating the new year!


I didn't get to achieve my goal for 2018 but I have grown so much since last year and I feel like that is just as good! For me, 2018 was the biggest rollercoaster of a year that I have ever experienced. It was also the most challenging year that I have had to go through so far. I'm glad that it was so challenging though because I was able to learn so much about myself as a person and how I can handle different situations that may come my way. I expect 2019 to come with some challenges since I am transferring to a bigger university and a bigger city that I'm not too familiar with. I can't wait to develop new memories and connections at UNC Charlotte.

I move into my dorm at Charlotte in three days. I am almost done with packing for move-in day and I'm so glad that I have gotten most of it out of the way because I felt that it would be the most stressful part in preparing for UNC Charlotte. It wasn't as stressful as I thought it would be but it did take a lot of time to do and I still have a couple of things that need to be packed but that would have to be saved for Saturday night.

When thinking of going to UNC Charlotte, I am most excited to start my classes. I haven't taken face-to-face classes in a year so I'm excited to be a part of the classroom again. A couple of UNC Charlotte students have already reached out to me and I am glad that they did. I hope to be able to make new friends when I go to UNC Charlotte. I'm also hoping that I become good friends with my roommates. They seem like nice girls and I hope that we all get along well since we will be living with each other for the Spring semester.


I was thinking of what my goal for 2019 should be. Should I work on my resolution that I had last year or think of a new one? Is it necessary to make a resolution every single year? There were so many other questions that were running through my mind and I decided not to make a resolution this year. I just want to continue to focus on myself and grow as a person. I've already grown so much but I know that I'm going to grow even more as a person and I want that to happen. Growth is such an important thing and it helps you handle situations better that you may not have handled too well in the past. Nobody is perfect but it seems that people forget that on a daily basis. I sometimes forget about that too but that's why I have to continue to grow as a person.

I started out this year with being happy and content with how everything is starting out. That's not how it was for me last year at all and I never thought so much change would happen in one year but it did and I'm so glad that it happened. I focused on the positives and that's what really helped me push through 2018 and get to the point where I want to be. And once I got to that, I thought about something else that I needed to improve on and focused on that until I achieved it. I repeated this process throughout the year.


I'm hoping that this happiness and all of the positivity that I've been experiencing continues on throughout 2019 and I know that will as long as I focus on myself and what's important to me. I can't get distracted by anything that doesn't get me to where my goal. I can't let the negativity get to me. I can't stress about anything that I can't fix in that moment. I can't worry about the possibility of something going on if I don't know if something bad is going to happen for sure. I just need to make sure that I can make my goals happen, personally and educationally. I can't wait to see what 2019 has in store for me! I'm hoping that this will be a good year and I hope that this year is a wonderful year to everyone closest to me!

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page