top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanese Dell

First Week of Classes


Today marks the end of the first week of classes! It has been such an exciting week for me so far! I've also been nervous at some points but the whole experience is new to me and I've enjoyed it so far.


The one thing that I have had to adjust to is living with someone else in the same room who I don't know at all. I used to share a room with my sister Ana when we lived at the old house but I haven't had to share my personal space with someone in almost seven years. So, it has been a while and I was concerned of how I would react to having someone in the same space as me but it's been going well so far. I usually just keep to myself but my roommate and I get along pretty well which is a very good thing because not everybody gets along with their roommates.


I also officially start my job as a Print Lab Assistant at the College of Art & Architecture on Monday. I work fifteen hours next week which isn't bad at all. I finally got awarded FWS aid from the school today and they were only able to give me $418 since I already had a Tuition Assistance Grant and two loans that were helping to pay for school. I'm excited to start the job and I think it'll be a great way to network and make friends while I'm attending UNC Charlotte.


I want to attend as many basketball games as I can this semester since they're free for students and the games are free to students as long as we show our student ID. I'm already planning on going to meet the athletes. I believe that's going to be pretty cool.

There was a student organization showcase in the Student Union earlier this week and I went to go see what they have. I'm interested in the Transfer Student organization but I won't be able to make it to the meeting because it starts at the same time as I have to report to work. I also joined JAMS which is Japanese Anime and Manga Society. It's a nerdy group that I think I'll have a lot of fun in. I got accepted as a member of Student Niner Media but I didn't see them at the showcase so I'm not sure how I should contact them about opportunities to work with them. I saw the sister chapter of the sorority that my sister is in. They seem really nice and the girl that I talked to is going to send me information whenever an event is going on. There was a Hispanic Outreach program that I saw that I think would be good to join, along with Student Government Association. Oh, and there was also Improv which seemed really fun. I'm going to have to check a lot on social media for when they have their meetings because they post it on their Instagram account.


I met up with Sierra twice so far. She reached out to me through Twitter which I think is awesome. I think that she'll be a great friend while I'm here at UNCC.


I'm going to do my best to work ahead on my assignments that way I don't fall behind. I hope that I'll be successful at that. If anybody else started their first week of college, I hope that it went well for you and I hope that next week goes just as well for you!


~ See you next time! ~

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page