top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanese Dell

My hiatus is over

Hello everyone!


I know that I've been gone for a long time and didn't post at all during the summer. I was planning on doing it but I got so caught up with work and the summer classes that I was taking at one point and it kind of just left my mind. I will say that there is a lot to catch up on and I will try to cover as much as I can throughout this post so expect this to be a long one!


First thing's first, I worked as a cashier at Walmart near where I live. I worked there for about 4 months and it was one of the best but stressful jobs I have ever worked. The coworkers were great and I didn't really have any issues with anybody. I was able to meet customers from different walks of life and they shared so many stories with me that were quite interesting and every once in a while I would share one of mine if it related to the conversation that we were having. There were some customers that weren't so great and caused some issues. For example, I had one customer being racist and saying how I'm from China and that it's my country's fault that the virus got as bad as it did (how ironic right??). She was also saying that I needed to learn proper sanitizing techniques because I was the reason for spreading the virus. I was wearing gloves because customers touch different items and I don't know what they do in the store in between touching items or if they wash/sanitize their hands like they should be doing so I wore gloves to protect myself whenever I was working at the register. She got in my face by coming across the plastic barrier and told me to stop whatever I was doing and take them off and then continue on with scanning her items. I thought it was kind of ironic because she was yelling at me about that stuff since she works at the hospital but she wasn't even wearing a mask. You would think that someone in the health/medical field would take the necessary precautions and follow guidelines about how to prevent the spread of a virus during a pandemic.


Anyways, that was a bit of a rant but that was really the only time I ever experienced that. There were other situations but the one I mentioned always stuck with me since it was my second week of working at Walmart and it wasn't even long after we opened the store. It was great that once I started telling some coworkers about it that they would have my back and handle the situation if it were to ever happen again. Luckily, that situation never happened again.


I took two summer classes over the summer and they were Feature Writing and New Media for Communications. The Feature Writing class was a lot of work and it was only a 5-week course. I was so stressed out with all of the different writing assignments but I'm glad that I got one of my hardest classes out of the way before the fall, my last semester of undergrad. The New Media class was very fun and the workload wasn't bad at all. The professor was great and gave us a lot of flexibility with the assignments that we had to do. I thought the class would be a lot of work but it wasn't and it went very smoothly.


One of the big things that happened recently is that I moved into my apartment which is near the school that I attend. (I tried attaching photos of it at the end of the blog post but I'm having issues, sorry guys!) If you don't know this, I go to the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. Move-in day was chaotic even though I didn't bring a lot of stuff but I'm really happy to be back in Charlotte. I love my school and I love the city. I really missed being in Charlotte while I was home during the summer. I went for a walk the other day and it was so nice to be able to walk past the Student Union and just to be on-campus. I only saw one person wearing a mask. I know there's not a lot of people on-campus right now but I did see a couple of groups walking around on-campus and none of them were wearing masks. It just kind of shocked me but I kept on walking and minded my business.


I'm so excited for my last semester of undergrad. I'm ready to graduate and get my degree before heading off into the real world!


I can't be for certain with how often I'm going to be able to post throughout the semester depending on how much the workload is with classes and my two campus jobs. I will try to post every Sunday like I've been doing since I came to UNC Charlotte in the Spring of 2019. If things don't go as planned, I will make a post on my Instagram about it.


Until next time!~

8 views0 comments

Σχόλια


bottom of page