top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanese Dell

Seventh Week of Classes

Hello, everyone!


I have made it through another week of classes at UNC - Charlotte. It may be raining outside but this week is ending on a good note and I couldn't ask for anything better than that!


After I woke up from my nap today, I found out the score for my Statistics quiz and I made a 76 on it. I still have a good grade in that class due to the other assignments that have been graded so it only brought down my average two points. And while I was eating lunch with my roommate, I found out that I made an 84 on my Intro to Communication Theory exam. I had a good feeling about that test and I'm so proud of myself for preparing so well for my Communication Theory exam. I did some last minute studying for my Stats quiz so I am not too surprised about my grade but I have an 88.93 in the class so I can't really complain.


I am going to be covering the baseball games this weekend. There's one game tomorrow, two on Sunday, and one on Monday pending the weather here in Charlotte. I'm excited to cover my first sports game this weekend. It will help diversify my resume when applying to future jobs and internships that relate to the field that I want to pursue. I have a media pass for those games too. I am hoping that this first story of mine for the Sports section goes well and the editor and assistant editor for the Sports section are doing an amazing job in helping me through this process. I am happy to have them helping me for my first story.


My story for the News section is also going well. The questions that I have for the counseling center are going to be asked on Monday during an interview that the Assistant Director of Outreach and the editor of the video section are having. I am working together with the video section for this story and our stories go really well together which is going to make it even better for both of our sections. I am extremely grateful that everything for both of my stories are going so well. My editor for the news section was so understanding when I told her about the collab and needed the extension for my story in order to get all of the information that I need for it. I'm glad that she allowed the extension or else this story would have been a complete flop.


In one week, I will be going home for Spring Break. I still have plenty of work today between today and when I go home but I am still excited to be going home for about a week. I am still going to be working on schoolwork during Spring Break in order to stay on top of my classes.


I don't want to sound like I am bragging about myself but I am proud of myself for doing so well during my first semester of college away from home. I have been stressed and have had breakdowns since I have started my semester at UNC Charlotte but I am still pushing through. The semester is almost halfway done and it doesn't even feel like it.


The only bad thing that has happened this week is that my coworker and I got cussed out by another student about something that neither of us could control. I had to deal with people getting mad at me for those types of things when I was a waitress but I never thought that I would have to deal with it UNC Charlotte students. They're usually more understanding than the instructors but this one wasn't understanding at all. I told my manager about it and there's a possibility that he may be banned due to his actions. According to my manager, it is very rare that students and/or instructors have been banned from the print lab but it has happened. I told my manager that I remember what he looks like and that I will let someone know the next time he comes in to print something. I know that I might have to deal with that during their reviews and finals, but not for homework assignments.


One of the highlights for this week has been ordering the James Charles palette. I was so excited when I saw that my order was confirmed and I cannot wait to play with the palette and unleash my inner artist! I started the ordering process as soon as it got restocked at 11 a.m and my order was confirmed at 11:04 a.m. It is supposed to arrive at my house on February 23rd. I don't know what time it will be there but I let my parents know that I have a package that is on the way there. I am probably going to cry once I see it because I have been trying to get this palette ever since it has launched but every time I get a chance to order it, it's out of stock. The next thing that I will order from James Charles will more than likely be the sister's apparel. I might order the brushes that he has from his collection but I'm definitely not going to order the entire thing. I don't have that type of money! Regardless, I am so happy to finally have it and will most definitely try out makeup looks that I haven't tried before. I might even use those colors with Jeffree Star's Thirsty palette.


That's it for the weekly update for my seventh week of classes this semester! I hope that anyone that is reading this and is in college is doing well in all of their classes. If you are struggling in any of your classes, please take advantage of the resources that you have available to you! College can be hard but don't make it even harder on yourself by not taking advantage of what's available to you.


I hope that everyone has a wonderful weekend. Stay safe and stay warm!


~ See you next time! ~

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page