top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanese Dell

Sixth Week of Classes

Hello everyone! I hope you're all having an amazing Friday and are ready for the weekend!


I believe I said that I was going to do this tonight but I have a bunch of free time today since I've worked ahead on most of my schoolwork this week so I figured that I would post this article early.


The beginning of this week started off fairly stressful for me due to not knowing how my editor wanted me to proceed with my counseling story that I'm working on for the News section. The story is about the benefits of going to see a counselor when transitioning from home and/or community college if a student is personally struggling with that and whether or not they take advantage of that resource from UNC Charlotte. My goal is to at least get ten responses from students that way I have a decent amount of perspectives to go by and it'll help develop my story more accurately. I also have questions to ask a counselor from a school and I emailed the counseling center and I am currently waiting a response on that.

Other than that, the story is going fairly smoothly and I hope to reach my goal for the student responses.


My statistics class got cancelled today due to my teacher going a wedding out of town. I don't know if it's her wedding or someone else that she knows but it's really none of my business. Plus, I didn't have class today so you know what that means...getting Starbucks! The line was super long but it was worth the wait. I still haven't finished my drink that I got which is my go-to: Grande double chocolate chip frappe with vanilla bean powder and soy milk.

For the most part, my statistics class is going well. I've gone to tutoring once already for help on problems that I was struggling with and my tutor was very helpful. I've already completed all of the homework assignments that have been assigned. I turned in two of them and I'm waiting until Monday to turn in the final assignment. I'm hoping that I get a good grade on all of these homework assignments that have been assigned for this chapter that way my grade in the class goes up.

My grade in the class is at a 90 but I want it to be higher in case I do poorly on the quiz and/or test. I believe that they're weighed more than the quiz anyways.


My liberal studies class has been improving throughout the semester. We're already on module three. The movie that we're watching is Black America since MLK and Still I Rise. It's a really interesting documentary and there's four parts to it. We have three more parts to watch before we take the test. Speaking of tests for that class, I got a 95 on my second test which was about the Garinagau people of Belize. I studied like crazy for that test because I want my grade to improve. I'm hoping to come out of that class with a high B or low A by the end of the semester. I've read chapter three for the module and taken notes on it based off the reading and the notes that she provided. I still need to reach chapter four for the module and take notes on it based off the reading. I already took notes for it from the one that she posted online. I wasn't feeling too good about the class after that first quiz but now it's slowly changing.


I am ahead on all of my assignments for Spanish. I completed all of the assignments I had online for the class so I don't have another one due until March 12th. I am going to take advantage of this time by studying way before the exam that way I can get a better grade on it in comparison to the first one. I haven't scored that low on an exam in a long time but now I know what to expect for her tests. I think working ahead helped because now I already know what to expect so I have a pretty good idea on what we're going to be learning and how we're going to use it with the language. I'm also going to work ahead on my assignments for this class and my other classes during spring break that way I'm not super stressed out about them.


The easiest class I've had so far is my Intro to Communication Theory class. The two main reasons why it's the easiest is because of the way Dr. Crane teaches and going to the SI sessions. I also took advantage of making a three mini-series notebook which has helped out a lot in understanding what we're learning in class and how to properly prepare for the first exam. I studied the first chapter earlier today and I read the summary for it. The way that I am going to study for it is by studying a chapter each day and reading the summary of the chapter that I am studying on that particular day. I also read the information out loud that way I retain it better. I already have a couple of questions that I am going to ask Dr. Crane. I'm going to send him an email after I post this article. I'm feeling very confident about this class and the first exam.


I also need to study for the test for the writing foundations class that was online. The first test is on Wednesday so I am going to take that test immediately after my class ends that way I can see how it's going to be. And if I score low on it, I can retake it again which isn't a big deal. I have four chances to score a 70% or above for the class so I'm not worried about it. Plus, I've heard that it's super easy.


I also have some training videos that I have to complete for work so I am going to do those after I have lunch. I know that those are going to be easy to complete but tedious so I'm not going to stress about them. I have plenty of time to complete them.


I went to the J.A.M.S meeting this week. It was a lot of fun and I was able to complete some schoolwork at the meeting while watching anime. It's such a fun way to complete schoolwork while getting social interaction. I really enjoy the club and I am definitely going to continue being a member of the club next year. I really can't wait for another movie night.

I won't be able to make it to the meeting on this coming Wednesday because the exam for Communication Theory is on Thursday so I am going to study for the test on Wednesday night. I know that they're going to understand because school comes first before anything else.


Overall, this week has been pretty good and I'm looking forward to how next week is going to go. I know that it's going to get stressful the closer it gets to spring break but I am doing everything I can to prepare for it and I believe that I am doing a good job in school so far.

Also, because I've worked ahead on my schoolwork, it looks like I'll be able to record a Sims video and play Sims just for fun this weekend! I love it when I get to have a relaxing weekend!


I hope everyone has had a good week and I also hope that your weekend is amazing! If you're a college student, keep working hard and take advantage of the resources you have at your disposal in order to bring up a grade in your class, if you have a concern about one to begin with. Spring break can't come fast enough!


~ See you guys next time! ~

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page