top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanese Dell

Week 1: Last Semester of Undergrad

Updated: Sep 21, 2020

Hello everyone!


I'm really sorry that I forgot to write a blog last Sunday and this past Sunday. Adjusting back to classes with this online format and trying to manage all of the readings and assignments has been a bit overwhelming and I'm still trying to get a handle on it.


I only have one more assignment due this week but I do have a group assignment for my Presidency class that's due next Wednesday and it's extremely stressful. I'm hoping that we can get all of it done by Tuesday night but this coming week is going to be fairly busy with all of the readings that I have to do for my classes.


I have an opinion article that's due for October 8th and is going to be published on October 13th. I have an idea of what I want to write for the article but I'm unsure of how it can be related to the UNC Charlotte students. I'm hoping that it all works out. I also had four football recaps but there is a new person in the sports section, Sam Perry, and if they write a couple of articles then they can be promoted to Staff Writer so I offered them two of my recaps. I had no problem helping them out since I know it was difficult for me to write articles when I first joined Niner Times and I do my best to help out the new people whenever I can. They appreciated what I did for them and I hope that it helps them out in getting closer to being promoted from being an intern to a staff writer. It took me a year and a half to be promoted to Staff Writer for Sports and a year for the Opinion section. I'm glad that I'm getting this promotion before I graduate.


I did a little bit of shopping this past weekend which was much needed. I haven't gone shopping in such a long time and it felt so nice to be able to do that. I also got some nice clothes that I'm definitely going to wear. Plus, I didn't bring many clothes from my closet back home and I was definitely needing a couple more shirts to wear since by the end of each week I was starting to run low on tops to wear. I don't think I'll run out of them as quickly as I was now that I have a couple of more shirts and dresses now. I also think I found my graduation dress while shopping at a boutique called Francesca's which I'm really happy about because all of the dresses that I bought were under $20.


I've been getting more into Animal Crossing which is really nice. When my sister first bought the game for me, I was questioning whether or not I would play the game often but it grew on me and I have become a little addicted to it. I do my best to play an hour of the game every single day if possible. I've been doing my best to keep up with Sims but I haven't been playing it as much since classes have started. I mainly play it towards the end of the week since that's when my workload from school tends to decrease.


I'm definitely going to do my best to cook more often in comparison to when I was living on-campus. I'm not bad at cooking but I definitely don't have a lot of motivation to cook food unless I absolutely have to or if I want to try something new that I haven't tried before. I have an idea of the next couple of meals that I want to cook but the food won't be arriving until later on this week so it's going to be a while before I cook another lunch and/or dinner for myself. I'm definitely excited about it though!


I've also started job searching but have yet to apply to any jobs. I plan on applying to jobs either tomorrow or Wednesday since I am going to graduate pretty soon and I want to make sure that I have a job lined up for after graduation. The only thing I don't know for sure is if I'm going to be in Charlotte or Fayetteville after graduation. I'll probably get closer to figuring that out as I get closer to graduation and when my financial situation becomes more clear. That's one of the things that is making me the most anxious and stressed right now.


Well, I think that's all I have to say for now. I definitely don't want to make this blog post too long. I hope that everyone is doing well and is staying safe!


Until next time!~

9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page