top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanese Dell

Week 1: A New Beginning

Hello everyone!


It has been a while since I have done my weekly blog posts. The fall semester was super busy for me so I wouldn't have been able to do this even though I really wanted to. Sorry for not doing that but I'm back to doing this weekly!!


The Spring semester has finally started. Towards the end of my winter break, I was really excited to be able to come back to Charlotte for school. I knew that it would keep me busy and I would always be doing something instead of just sitting around trying to figure out an activity to do. I was so bored when I was at home that I was writing book notes for my Persuasion class. I know that also sounds kind of nerdy but hey, I had to figure out something to do.


The semester started on Wednesday. I only have classes on Tuesdays and Thursdays so I didn't have to worry about going to class but I did start my internship. My internship is at the Atkins Library and I'm a Digitized Collections Intern. It's honestly not that bad of an internship and I'm enjoying it so far. It's mainly of me listening to audio recordings and just documenting what I hear from those recordings. Also, the pay is slightly better than the print lab but I mainly took this internship because it gives me experience in my field which is what I'm going to need.


Also, on Thursday afternoon I had a phone interview for Publications Intern and it's in Raleigh. The internship will be with Carolina Country Magazine. I'm really hoping that I do get the internship because it gets my feet wet working in an organization where I can pitch stories, edit them, and even write my own. I'm not exactly sure how soon I'm going to hear back from them but I'm going to stay positive about it until I do get an email or phone call.


I do have some schoolwork that I need to already work on for my classes. I knew that it was going to happen but I just need to get back into the swing of things. It has basically been a month since I've done any type of school work. I'm sure that I'll be able to get into the swing of things pretty soon but until that, I'm going to be stressed.


So far, I'm liking my classes. I haven't met my professor yet for Advanced News Reporting and Editing since it's only on Tuesdays. The only thing that I have an issue with is that we have to sign a contract for it. It makes me feel like we're back in a high school science class. That's just my personal opinion on it though. I don't know how anyone else feels about professors doing that.


I'm hoping that this week starts off pretty well. Last week started off good so I'm having high hopes for the second week of the semester.


I'm also going to think of podcast ideas to do. I really enjoyed doing a podcast as a project for one of my classes last semester and I want to continue on doing that.


I hope that everyone's semester is starting off pretty well. I'm wishing you all the best and speaking positivity since it is still the beginning of 2020.


Well, that's it for now.


See you next time!~

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page