top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanese Dell

Week 13: I'm Busy

Hello everyone!!


I know that I am uploading this pretty late on Easter Sunday but I am doing it now since I am going to be pretty busy tomorrow and I am unsure if I would be able to upload it due to everything that I have to do. Before I get into how my week has been, I hope that everyone's Easter Sunday is going well and that it has been a blessed day.


This week was fairly busy and still kind of stressful just like it has been the past couple of weeks. I think a part of it has been due to me feeling like I am not organized while managing everything that I have to do for my classes that are now online. It has been quite an adjustment even though it has been this way for the past month or so.


It has been announced by the school that our refund for housing and other fees are going to be prorated and that we will be getting refunds for the school throughout the month leading up to April 30th. I'm hoping to receive mine in time so that it can be used to pay for this month's bill for the school and use the rest of the money to pay for my summer classes so I do not have to spend a lot of money out of pocket. I hope that it works out in my favor. If it does not work out that way, then I am going to be in a bit of a tight spot for a little bit until things get figured out.


The most productive thing that I have done this past week is complete some of the major assignments for my classes and I will no longer have to worry about them until I have to turn them in. I have typed up the final news analysis that is due on Tuesday, completed the final news article assignment for News Reporting, and the analysis of persuasive appeals for my Persuasion class. I was really stressed out about those assignments and thought that they would take an extremely long time to complete it. The assignment that took the shortest time to complete was the paper for Persuasion and the assignment that took the longest to complete is the final news analysis of News Reporting. I'm hoping that I did well on those assignments and that I receive good grades on them. Also, I have to remember to turn in the final version of the Literature Review assignment for the Research Methods. I got the feedback on the draft version of it and completed it within the following day so I do not have to worry about it. I just have to make sure that I turn it in before it is due. The only thing that is preventing me from turning it in right now is that there is not something on Canvas for me to turn in the final version of my Literature Review. I believe that I have made the proper corrections on it in order to receive a just as good grade as my draft version or an even better grade.


I've done a little bit of yard work this weekend too. I spent most of my time out in the front yard putting down fertilizer and weed prevention. That took me about 4 hours to do and I got a little bit of a tan from it. I'm hoping that if I continue to do yard work or spend time going outside that I will be pretty dark by the time that summer comes around. I just need to spend at least 4 hours outside every weekend in order for that to happen. I'm sure that will be able to happen since my dad said that there is a lot of work that he needs to do outside and knowing him, I am more than likely going to be the one that helps him out. That is how it has been ever since I have come home for Charlotte. I do not mind it too much even though I sometimes dread it since I know that I am going to be the only one to help out. The reason why I do not mind it is that it keeps my mind off of schoolwork for a while and I wonder if that is one of the reasons why my dad asks me to help out.


Besides all of that, this week has gone fairly well. I did some work for the website changes for the Print Lab. I worked alongside Margie and it was interesting to see the process of everything and listen to how it works with how Rose wants the website to be organized even though this is a temporary change due to the pandemic. I am glad that I have picked up on this skill and I hope that I will be able to use it in the future at some point. The work for my internship is not going too bad either. I enjoy reading and listening to oral history interviews and learning some new things about Rowan County, Catawba County, Gaston County, and even Charlotte. Since I have been listening to the oral history interviews, I have grown a better understanding and become more appreciative of the farmers and the work that they do. I have listened to how hard it can be to be a farmer and that there are some years that they struggle. And even though there are tough years, they still enjoy the job that they are doing because they are passionate about it and they know that it is something that has to be done in order to provide for the people within the country. I'm not saying that I want to be a farmer but I have recently wanted to try a hand at growing a couple of things, like tomatoes. I've done it before and I hope that it goes well but only time will tell.


Well, I think that I am going to end my entry right here since it is starting to get pretty long. I hope that everyone enjoyed spending time with family during this time and that you are all healthy.


Until next time!~

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page