top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanese Dell

Week 6: An Eventful Week

Hello everyone!


I'm currently writing this blog post while I'm at work like I usually do for these types of things but I am entirely worn out. I'm going to try to make this as long as I possibly can but if this ends up being really short, I do apologize for that.


The week started off with me working ahead for my Communication Research Methods class. The reason why I was working ahead so much is that I remembered that we were assigned a literature review that is now due on the 23rd of this month. I didn't want the workbook exercises that my professor has assigned us to prevent me from completing it on time. I finished the workbook exercises for the rest of this month, surprisingly, and started focusing on the literature review that is due a week from today.


The literature review has been kind of difficult to do. The research topic that I have chosen is about how social media posts and the use of it can influence the outcomes of romantic relationships. The information that I have found about this topic through the sources that I have been researching has been quite interesting but also not surprised to hear by some of the evidence that the researchers illustrate throughout their entire study. I started working on the sources while I was at the season opener on Friday and I finally finished taking notes on all of them while at work. I was working on the reference page as I was taking notes that way I do not have to stress about it later on. Also, I've finished doing the cover page for the literature review so now all I have to worry about is typing up at least 5 pages about the information that I have learned through my sources.


The main thing that I am happy about is that the entire paper is going to be double spaced. If it wasn't, I would really struggle to try to make this go to 5 pages. I am thinking about working on that tomorrow after I get off of work. I want to take a break from my literature review since I have been working on it all weekend. I think that if I work on it any more this weekend, my brain is going to be completely fried.


Besides working on the literature review, I covered the first series of the season for the UNC Charlotte baseball team. I really missed watching the games and covering them so I was really excited to have the chance to cover the series to open up the season. The team lost two of the three games that were played this weekend but they played tough against VCU. Their offense was really good and they have a lot of veteran players so I wasn't really surprised by the outcome of the game but I was happy that we won at least one against a tough opponent like VCU. I plan on going to the game that is going on this coming weekend. I'm also considering covering softball. I've never really watched a softball game before but I've heard that the team isn't too bad. Plus, not a lot of people in the sports section are signing up to cover those games and Sam is not too happy with that. (For those who don't know, Sam is the editor of the sports section for Niner Times.)


I did a little tour of The Mill on Wednesday afternoon. The apartment complex is sooo freaking nice and I am already in love with the place. I wasn't able to see the model for the apartment floor plan that I am interested in since it's currently under renovation. When I called on Friday, the guy told me to call back on Monday to see if they are done and to schedule for a tour of it if they are done renovating the model. If I see the model and love the way it looks, I am going to immediately apply and sign the lease right then and there if possible! I am so excited to have my own space in a way. I'll have my own room, bathroom, and a walk-in closet. And get this...the walk-in closet and the bathroom are the same sizes so I already know that I am going to have more than enough room for all of the clothes that I am going to bring upcoming this fall.


For my apartment, I started a registry. I am trying to save up a lot of money during this semester since my internship does pay a little bit more than my job in the print lab but even with that, it's still not enough to buy all of the things that I am going to need for my apartment. I do not want my parents to have to pay for everything since there are stuff at home and the old house that they need to take care of and I don't want to prevent them from being able to do that by spending money on things that I need for my place. I'm hoping that people will get me at least one item off the list. I do not know who will do that for me or how much they are willing to spend but I am going to include that if they find something for cheaper, they are more than welcome to buy me that instead and I will be totally fine with it since I do not know what their finances look like. I just put down what I would prefer for my apartment in my registry and I am going to make that very clear whenever I do make a post about it on Facebook.


I haven't been able to play Sims since I have been so busy throughout the week. I am definitely going to take advantage of spring break to play Sims to make up for lost time. I also plan on doing some school work while I am on break to keep me occupied in case my friends that I want to hang out with are too busy to spend time with me while I am home for break. I do hope that at least a couple of my friends will want to play the new Monopoly game with me that I bought while I was home last month. I am going to be very disappointed if they are not able to. I love Monopoly and I love doing things that I love with my friends.


Well, this post has gotten quite long and there is other school stuff that I need to work on while I am at work.


See ya next time!~

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page