top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanese Dell

Week 7: Almost There

Hello everyone!


This week has been kind of interesting and I am hoping that this week goes a little bit better than last week.


On Wednesday, I had to go to the student health center on-campus because the pain in my lower back wasn't going away and I wanted to get their opinion on it. From what I understand, the muscle in my lower right back are really aggravated because it's trying to straighten out my spine since it pinched a nerve or something like that but that muscle became so aggravated that it needed help. So, the muscle on the left side of the back started trying to help but it just made my pain worse and isn't helping at all. It's interesting in what it is trying to do but I wish that it would actually help out with the pain. The doctor gave me two different medicine. One of them is supposed to help out with the pain and I take it every 12 hours while the other one I take at night since it makes people drowsy but it's supposed to help out with the muscle spasm and pain. So far, the medicine hasn't been really helping and the pain in my lower back is actually getting worse so I probably need to make another appointment before I go home for break.


I turned in my literature review the other day and I am so glad that I am finally done with that assignment. I was trying to check on a free website for plagiarism since it doesn't tell me through Canvas whenever I turn it in. The only way that I would be able to check for it is if I were to pay for it and I don't want to do that since I don't write a lot of research papers or anything similar to that. I just hope that I get a good grade on it because that assignment was really hard to do and some of my classmates are already expecting to make a bad grade on it. I don't blame them for feeling that way but I want to maintain an A in that class because then it will look good once I apply for graduate school. It will show that I understand research concepts and that I will be able to apply from what I learned in that class to actual research. I'm still unsure if I am going to go to graduate school though...I'll figure that out at a later point.


I have two tests coming up this week. The first one is on Tuesday and it is for my News Reporting class. I have been told that it is really hard so I have been studying for it for like the past week. I am going to review the readings tomorrow and when I meet up with my friend Kobe in the library to study for it. I hope that I do well on it. I think that I will at least get a B on the test. The News Analysis quiz wasn't too bad and I passed that with an A. The other test is on Thursday and it is for my Communication Research Methods class. Her test is super easy so I'm not too worried about it but I am still studying for it just so I can answer some of the questions without looking at the textbook or my notes. I want to prove that I have understood and can comprehend the information that we have learned so far in the class.


I started on a new project at my internship. I am basically documenting VHS tapes along with mini cassettes from different collections that they have received funding for in order to document them. It doesn't seem too bad but I did enjoy doing the oral history interviews even though some of them were long. I enjoyed them because I was actually learning something and it was quite interesting to learn about some historical aspects of places in North Carolina or the background of people in North Carolina. I hope that I will be able to go back to working on that but I don't think that will be happening any time soon.


Well, I am going to end this entry here since I have some other stuff that I want to work on while I'm working in the print lab.


Until next time!~

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page