top of page
  • Writer's pictureLanese Dell

Week 8: Just Keep Swimming

Hello everyone! I'm sorry for being a day late with this post. I was pretty busy yesterday since I came back to my apartment from being home for the weekend and I had a lot of schoolwork to work on because my wifi back home wasn't cooperating with me very well. Plus, I had two meetings to attend not too long after coming back to my apartment and Sundays are my cleaning days so you can imagine just how busy I was doing various things.


But, I have time today even though it may not be much!


The past week was pretty stressful. My overall grade for my Mass Media class went down when she regarded the midterm which dropped me from an overall grade of an 82 to a 76. I honestly don't understand why professors would regrade a student's assignment and put it into the grade book if it meant that their grade would be lower and actually cause them to struggle more in the class and stress a lot more about thinking of ways that they can bring that grade up, especially with how hard it has been to do virtual classes while working and adjusting to the various things that come about throughout the day. I'm going to do the very best that I possibly can in bringing up my grade in that class but she weighs the midterm and the News Source Comparison's blog so heavy to the point if I don't do well on that assignment, I'm absolutely screwed and will end up not being able to graduate on time because of this one class. I want to be able to graduate this semester. It's one of the things that I've been looking forward to since my classes during the summer have finished and I would be one semester ahead of my originally expected graduation date. I don't want one class to be the reason why it causes me to fall behind on my plan. That's the main thing that I've been stressing about all of last week and it's going into this week as well since I got an e-mail not that long ago that she just gave us another assignment. As if she didn't already assign us a lot of work and readings in the first place...


I do have an exam on Wednesday for my presidency class. I honestly won't have that much time to study for it because of everything that I have to do tomorrow in regards to my internship and the fact that I have a zoom lecture for my Mass Media class as well. I'm basically going to be busy all day tomorrow and I don't see myself getting a good break or a decent amount of time to study a little bit for the exam before I have to take it. Wednesday also isn't looking too good to do some last minutes studying since I'm expecting to interview one of the basketball players for a feature story that is going to be included in the preview for the upcoming basketball season at my university. I'm looking forward to this interview since I've only done one feature in the past and I thoroughly enjoyed it but I'm also pretty nervous about it since I don't really keep up with basketball or watch it very much so I did my best to ask questions that weren't too technical about the sport and risk showing that I don't know that I'm doing and kept them pretty simple. Let's hope that it all works out!


The election is tomorrow and I'm excited yet nervous about it. I know that the voter turnout for this election has been absolutely insane and I hope that this momentum continues into tomorrow when people go out to vote that weren't able to vote during the early voting period for their states. I just want to see someone be elected who will lead our country in the right direction and will actually start taking this pandemic seriously so we can get it under control and not have to worry about this virus being around longer than it has to be. This incumbent president hasn't been helping the country at all in this situation and I would personally hate to see him win a second term. I want him to lose this election. I've never liked him in the first place and he hasn't done a lot of things that have benefited my community, my family, or even myself. I know that I don't get too political in my blog posts where I discuss about how my week has been along with other stuff but this is something that I can't avoid since the election is tomorrow and I've been heavily involved in my internship since the work that I was doing for it relates to the election. I just hope everybody's hard work pays off and that people see a result that they're happy with. Only time will tell though...


I have quite a bit of stuff that I need to work on and I also need to write a short entry in my diary just so I can keep up with it and not forget about it so I'm going to go ahead and end the post right here!


Until next time!~

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page